Cooking Hiatus and New Recipes

I would like to apologize to you about recent cooking hiatus. I have not been on this site lately, due to work commitments, but I will have more recipes this weekend. Keep on the lookout for a fabulous Chocolate Truffles recipe, a chicken and apple casserole dish that will make your mouth water, and lastly, a tribute to my favorite city in America, New York, with my Caprese Pasta dish.

However, I will share my famous hot chocolate recipe, since the weather is starting to get chilly.

Krystle’s Hot Chocolate

1 c. Fat-free Milk
1 tsp. Extract (Pick a flavor. I generally use Pure Almond or Vanilla Extract.)
1/3 c. sugar
1 tsp. secret weapon (You can use cinnamon, but it will not have the Krystle effect. Secret Weapon is a spice blend that you use when making Pumpkin Pie.)
2 tbsp. Hershey’s Cocoa (While you can use regular Hershey’s, I highly recommend the Hershey’s Special Dark Cocoa…which is ten times better.)

In a small saucepan, whisk together the milk, sugar, extract and secret weapon (cinnamon). Cook on medium heat, then when it is starting to steam, add one tbsp of cocoa, then whisk to combine, then add the last tbsp. of cocoa, then whisk to combine. Pour into mug. Now, if you want it to be super glamorous, add some homemade whipped cream.

Whipped Cream
Heavy Whipping Cream
1 tsp. extract (again, I would strongly advise Pure Vanilla or Almond Extract)
1 tbsp. sugar

Beat all three ingredients until stiff peaks form in the cream.

Leave a Reply

