Lazy Evenings

Normally, I make a conscientious attempt to cook, but lately, traveling for work and other events has kept me out of the kitchen.  However, I do have to say there are a few things that I have fell in love with in the kitchen lately.  One is Trader Joe’s Pumpkin Pancake mix.  It’s good stuff and a life saver for those lazy weekend mornings, when you want a home cooked breakfast or for a quick dinner.

Another thing is my hopeless addiction to the George Foreman Grill.  I love grilling.  The taste of charcoal marks on chicken or cedar plank salmon on the grill always reminds me of summer.  Since I have to wait for cedar plank salmon, I keep the summer tradition going with marinated chicken on the indoor grill.  So, I am sharing my favorite recipe for marinated chicken and it just requires a bottle of vinaigrette.

Marinated Chicken Breasts with Polenta

1 tube of Italian Herb Polenta (sliced and fried in olive oil)

1 package of chicken tenderloins (boneless, skinless and thawed)

1 bottle of  Sun Dried Tomato Vinaigrette or Greek Vinaigrette

In a glass dish, place chicken tenderloins then cover with vinaigrette.  Let chicken set for a couple of hours to develop a great flavor (as soon as I woke up this morning, I did this and let the flavor soak in while at work) in the fridge.

Once flavor develops and seeps into the chicken, place on the hot indoor grill.  Grill until light goes off.  Then, place chicken tenderloins over 2-3 polenta slices.

It was quite yummy and a healthy departure from the fattening pasta I had planned to fix.

Stay tuned for some holiday cooking starting this weekend.  I should have some good baked goodies planned.

Leave a Reply

