Cranberry Scones with White Chocolate Rum Glaze

When I arrived back from my Christmas visit on Sunday, I went straight to the kitchen to quell my boredom. When I get bored, I bake. I made my famous Peppermint Bark, and I decided to bake a breakfast treat to use up dried cranberries. The first thing I did was to soak the cranberries in some sweet vermouth to add some zing to them before adding them to the Scone mixture later.

I adapted a scone recipe from the Better Homes and Gardens cookbook. After all, this cookbook has produced some pretty awesome recipes in the past and I expected the same. I tried one scone and knew that this recipe was a winner.

Now, I love to up the wow element in anything that I bake. Since I had some leftover dark rum from a Chocolate Hazelnut Cookie recipe I made before Christmas, I figured that this would add a different dimension to the white chocolate glaze that would be drizzled over top of the scone. This glaze not only added a wonderful butter rum hint…it only added some flavor to the bland white chocolate.

Cranberry Scone

2 1/2 C. all-purpose flour
3 tbsp. brown sugar
4 tsp. baking powder
1/4 tsp. salt
1/2 c. cold butter, cut into pieces
2 beaten eggs
3/4 c. heavy whipping cream
1/2 c. dried cranberries, soaked in sweet vermouth, drained

In a medium bowl, combine flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt. Using a pastry blender, cut in butter until mixture resembles coarse crumbs. Make a well in center of flour mixture, set aside.

In another medium bowl, combine beaten eggs, whipping cream, and cranberries. Add egg mixture all at once to the flour mixture. Using a fork, stir until moistened.

Turn dough out onto a lightly floured surface. Knead dough by folding and gently pressing dough for 10 to 12 strokes or until dough is nearly smooth. Pat dough into an 8-inch circle. Cut into 8 wedges.

Place wedges on an ungreased baking sheet. Brush wedges with cream and sprinkle with sugar. Bake in a 400 degree oven for 12-14 mins. Let scones cool a little.

Meanwhile, fix the White Chocolate Rum Glaze.

In a microwaveable safe bowl, melt 1/2 c. White Chocolate chips on high power for 30 seconds. Stir, and place back in for another 20 seconds. The mixture will be clumpy, so add 1 tbsp. dark rum and a little milk. Stir until it reaches a creamy consistency. Drizzle over the scones.

Leave a Reply

