One year ago…

Yesterday, my boyfriend and I celebrated the one year anniversary of our first date. We decided to go back to the place where we went: Dogwood Tavern in Falls Church, Va.

The Dogwood Tavern offers a menu of regional dishes with a hint of personality. Both my boyfriend and I love their brunch menu offered during the weekends, and their dinner menu is no different, since the restaurant uses quality ingredients. It is no wonder why there is usually a waiting list every time we go.

Since we went for dinner, the first thing we noticed that it was a raw bar night. They had specials on snow crab legs, oysters, and mussels. My boyfriend loves snow crab legs, while I kinda look at them suspiciously as I am from Maryland…and love my steamed crabs with Old Bay. He also ordered the Shrimp and Grits, which looked scrumptious. The shrimp were huge and the grits were cooked perfectly. My boyfriend was raving about them. As for the snow crab legs, they looked like some of them were filled and some not so much.

I ordered the Fish and Chips. Fish and Chips scream the best of British eats. There was no doubt that this special of the evening was a good choice. When the waitress bought the dish out, it was loaded with tons of chips (waffle fries) and the fish was huge. The fish was coated in a cornmeal breading that seemed to dominate the flavor of the cod used. I thought it was flavorful, especially when dipped in the tartar sauce. I used malt vinegar to add some flavor, but I should have asked for the Old Bay to add an extra special kick.

Overall, we were stuffed by the time dinner was over. It was great enjoying good food with a special someone. I look forward to many more visits in the future to Dogwood.

Leave a Reply

