Salmon with Chardonnay Pan Sauce

Salmon is one of my favorite seafood dishes. When I visited Montana a few years ago, I had the best cedar plank salmon dishes at Montana’s Rib and Chop House. It was enough to swoon this Maryland native to adopt a new fish with its mild taste that could adapt to any rub or pan sauce.

Imagine my surprise while I was shopping and found Honey Smoked Salmon fillets that were ready for searing. I immediately picked up a package of the fish for dinner Monday night, since I had Jasmine Rice on hand to use. This turned out to be a great dish that paired well with Chardonnay, and I figured that I would reduce some of it along with some butter, dill, and tarragon to create a pan sauce. You could drink it as well, since it is the perfect pairing.

Honey Smoked Salmon with Chardonnay Pan Sauce
1 package of precooked Honey Smoked Salmon Fillets
1/4 c. Chardonnay (I used Knapp 2009 Reserve Chardonnay)
2 tbsp. butter
2 tsp. Dill
2 tsp. Tarragon

First, lightly sear the salmon fillets in olive oil. After fish is cooked, remove from heat.

In a pan, melt butter. Once butter is melted, pour in Chardonnay, Dill, and Tarragon. Cook until chardonnay reduces. Immediately serve over salmon.

Leave a Reply

