Lemon Meets Blueberry: A Love Story for Foodies

This morning, I looked in the pantry for breakfast food, only to come out disappointed as there was nothing. I had the coffee, but nothing good to accompany the taste of a bold Italian Roast. Off to Starbucks I went…since I was running late for my friend’s bridal shower. At Starbucks, I broke away from my diet for a Caramel Frappuccino and a slice of Very Berry Coffee Cake. The cake was amazing and sent me dreaming of a recipe for tomorrow’s breakfast. I was craving blueberries, and since I had lemon in the fridge, I started thinking of a quick bread involving the two ingredients.

After my friend’s bridal shower, which was lovely and based on a tea party (not the political type), I came home with a quest to find a recipe. Enter Lemon Blueberry Muffins, a recipe that I found on Pillsbury.com.These muffins looked yummy, and since I had two of the ingredients available to me here at home, it was off to Trader Joe’s for the rest of them. They had a great selection of organic blueberries and they looked fresh (which can be hit or miss for my local store). I picked up blueberries.

I figured fixing these muffins would brighten my spirits, since I was in the midst of preparing my taxes. Baking always is a good therapy for a bad mood (and so is a glass of good wine). I adapted the recipe slightly from the original recipe, but they were scrumptious.

Photobucket

Lemon-Blueberry Muffins

1/3 C. Milk
1/4 C. Canola Oil
1 Container Greek Yogurt
1 tbsp. vanilla extract
1 egg
1 3/4 C. All-Purpose Flour
1/4 C. Sugar
1 tbsp. Grated Lemon Peel
1 tbsp. Lemon Juice
2 1/2 tsp. Baking Powder
1/2 tsp. Baking Soda
1/2 tsp. salt
1 c. Blueberries (I used fresh, but you could use frozen)

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Grease the bottom of the muffin tins or use paper liners.

Combine all of your dry ingredients (flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt). In another bowl, combine lemon peel, lemon juice, milk, oil, greek yogurt, vanilla and egg. Whisk well. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients. Stir until well mixed, then fold in 1 c. blueberries.

Place muffins in the oven for 16 minutes. After you remove the muffins from the oven, let cool for 5-10 minutes before removing from pan. Place on a nice serving dish and drizzle with lemon glaze.

Ah yes…I didn’t mention the glaze. After all, presentation is key…right?

Lemon Glaze

2 tbsp. lemon juice
1/4 c. sugar

In a small bowl, combine the two ingredients until smooth looking. Drizzle over warm muffins.

So, here is the story how lemon met blueberry, thus creating a sweet and sour medley for the taste buds. I can’t think of a better way to wake up on a weekend morning.

Leave a Reply

