Can Red Wine Save the Day?

I love a glass of red wine. Whether it’s a Merlot or Cabernet Sauvignon, the smooth and complex taste always seem to refresh my palate, as well as accompany a good dish. Recently, I have been reverting back to the reds, after a craving of Chardonnay in the fall after a trip to upstate New York. One thing is for certain, Virginia has no shortage of good red wines that are comparable to many in Napa Valley or Washington State.

Currently, after finishing my new favorite, Scarlet Oak Red (Naked Mountain Winery, Markham, Va.), I decided to try Rappahannock Cellars‘ Noblesse Rouge. Noblesse Rouge is a Bordeaux blend with blends of Petit Verdot, Merlot, Cabernet Franc, and Cabernet Sauvignon. This wine is smooth tasting with a lot of depth. The smoky hints are perfect, and it complemented the pizza I had earlier, along with the 72% Dark Chocolate I had for dessert.

This winery is one of my favorites in Virginia, and their red wines are excellent. As for the wine, it definitely provided some rescue from the stresses of tax season. Not to mention, the red wine is filled with flavenoids, which is good for you too.

Leave a Reply

