Maple Bourbon Pork Chops and Cheese Grits

One evening last week, I had a craving for something sweet and savory.   After looking in the refrigerator, I saw a package of boneless pork chops that looked ready for a cast iron skillet and some 1 on 1 time in the oven.  However, fear came across me.  How do I transform pork chops into something sensational for a weeknight?  Enter a recipe I found on How Sweet Eats that incorporated the sweet flavors of maple syrup and bourbon.  It was easy to prepare for the most part (that is until I saw the blue flame from the alcohol cooking off in the sauce…I honestly don’t know why I freaked out).  All in all, the pork chops were phenomenal.  They just demanded something decadent to join them.

Enter Cheese Grits.  Granted, I did not grow up in the south.   As a Marylander, I was not exposed to the delicacy of consuming grits.  In fact, my Mother hated them and refused to cook them.  However, I felt it was time to give Grits a chance.  While shopping at Trader Joe’s, I noticed they had a bag of quick cooking grits.  I bought a bag and transformed instant grits into a masterpiece.

Cheese Grits

Pkg. of Quick Cooking Grits

1/2 c. Shredded Quattro Formaggio Cheese

1 tsp. sage

1 tsp. thyme

1 tsp. rosemary

Follow the directions on the package of grits for the most part, with the exception of water.  You want to use chicken broth, in place of water.  Add the thyme, rosemary, and sage while cooking.  Once the grits are finished cooking, fold in cheese over low heat.  Serve warm.

From Drop Box

Leave a comment