Getting Married…The Dress

Looking back, there are a few things I regret in the wedding planning process.  With the proposal being a little under six months until the wedding, I decided to limit the dress shops to those with alteration prices included in the overall cost of the dress.  In the end, this reduction in cost may have ended up with my overall disappointment in the dress shopping experience.

I bought my dress from David’s Bridal in Springfield, Virginia after the horrible derecho storm that knocked out power for two days in my apartment complex.  My mother, sister, and Matron of Honor all joined me in finding the right dress, even though I was drenched in sweat and cranky from little sleep from the previous night.  I guess this only added to my frustrations.  However, I had a rude saleswoman, who made it her ultimate mission to place me in overpriced gowns that were ill fitting and poufy, despite wanting a dress that would show off my petite figure.  Needless to say, I was pissed that the saleswoman was not listening to what I wanted, so I was not planning to buy the dress there after the ordeal.

I tried on the first dress, which was a one shoulder white cocktail dress.  It made my shoulders look like an NFL linebacker, so the dress was placed on the rack.  The second dress was a strapless tea length dress, and it was a comfortable gown.  I kept on looking at myself in the mirror with a huge smile on my face.  I also saw the reflections of my Mom, sister, and Matron of Honor, which were favorable to the gown.  My sister kept saying how awesome the dress was and that this was the one.  Of course, I was not completely convinced, so I tried on a gown that I had been eyeing for a while.  It was a long, lacy, cap sleeve gown that was a mermaid shape.  This dress was heavy, itchy, and it left me wanting to remove it promptly.  Back to the rack went the gown and then, I proceeded to try on several strapless satin long gowns that were pretty…but not my style.

After standing and looking at myself in the mirror, my Mother urged me to try the second gown on again.  She was raving about how the dress was mine.  I went ahead and appeased her, only to find myself shedding tears of joy.  This was the dress, and I rang the bell.

However, the dress buying experience went sour a few days after, as David’s Bridal called and accused me of not paying for my gown.  I paid the day I bought the dress, and the staff was extremely inconsiderate upon purchasing it.  I had to take off work, go back to the store, only to find out that I did pay for the dress.  Again, I was treated rudely.  This did not bode well for me.  All in all, I had my dress and veil…this was the last time I wanted to ever step foot in David’s Bridal.

IMG_3823

 

The hair is the next stop in the Getting Married series…

Leave a Reply

